The Strongest Girl in the World

22 Apr

It’s all well and good for me to digitally vent about the choices and changes we are dealing with right now, but Matilda is just as affected by this of course, and she has no blog, poor thing. Luckily, she is exceptionally clever and can tell me a lot about how she feels in her own words, and if all else fails, a good-ol’ tantrum will usually get my attention too!

The two of us have been on the go since the end of March, and not one day has been the same as the one before. So after starting a new preschool  last week and with a particularly eventful day for both of us on Wednesday, we decided to take the day off  Thursday and just chill out around the house. At lunchtime we sat down and watched Pippi on the Run, munching on our chocolate spread bread. Pippi is one of Tilly’s (and my) heroes, and known of course as the strongest girl in the world. She handles every situation with a laugh, but she also has incredible depth and warmth.

We sometimes ask a lot of our two-and-a-half year old and lately I’m just in awe by how well she deals with and settles in to all this newness, facing most situations with curiosity and enthusiasm but also letting me know clearly when enough is enough and rest is required, drawing comfort and security from every resource available to her. I’m impressed and inspired by how strong she seems to me, and sometimes I think I couldn’t have done this without her.

With Batman's cape, Pippi's socks and her bunny and dummy safely clasped in her hands, she is ready for whatever the world throws at her

With Batman’s cape, Pippi’s socks and her bunny and dummy safely clasped in her hands, she is ready for whatever the world throws at her

Leave a comment